Ubulu-Uku Annual Football Competition a.k.a. BASALT CUP 2017

Ụgbaa FC Wins Basalt Cup 

Ụgbaa FC yesterday crowned an extraordinary performance in the 2017/18 edition of Basalt Cup with a win against their old rivals Akwụ FC in an epic final that ended 1-1 in regulation time and was later decided by penalty shootouts.

The football showpiece was graced by dignitaries from all walks of life including, the Chairman of Basalt Oil and Gas Nigeria Ltd; Dr. Okafor Afamefune Stanley, ex Nigerian International and sports administrator; Victor Agali. Chairman of the sports writers Association of Nigeria Delta State, Mr. Tony Sunday, ex Ubulu-Uku Football Stars; Peter Oriki, Pele Ayogbe, Onwochei Obubutana, etc. UDC and UYDC presidents and executives; Comr. Jones Ofu nne and Austin Enyi respectively. Others are Ashibuogwu Nally, Iyke Okoh, Mr Chiemeke etc, Distinguished businessmen and Women as well as bourgeois.

Ụgbaa FC began the game in front foot but failed to convert any of their chances.
Akwụ FC drew first blood in the 25th minute when Emeka Molokwu's free kick from about 23yards took a deflection off the wall into the far left corner of the net. Goalkeeper Chuks Onwordi could do little or nothing about it.

The goal changed the complexion of the game as Akwụ FC began to put pressure to get a second.
Akwụ FC goalkeeper Uchenna Odiaka showed some nerves when he failed to make a comfortable catch on two occasions.

His erratic goal keeping would prove fatal in the 36th minute when he punched out a long range, low level shot allowing Ifechukwude Adikakwu to tap in from close range.
Both teams struggled to impress in the second period of the game.
The players thrilled with Impressive performances to the delight of football scouts present at the game.

It ended 1-1 after regulation time. Akwụ FC Coach Okwuokei Chinye failed to make the usual goalkeeper substitution of introducing Mac Richards who specializes in spot kicks. Chuks Onwordi became hero of the day by saving two spot kicks to help Ụgbaa FC to their first trophy in 14yrs.

He received the award as best goalkeeper. His team mate, Uwandi Kanayor Vincent finished as top scorer. Christopher Isiekwene was awarded the MVP of the tournament. Ogbeani FC again received another recognition when they were presented with the fair play award. Uwandi Kanayor Vincent became the only player in the history of Ubulu-Uku Football to win the trophy with Akwụ ne Ụgbaa FC and later with Ụgbaa FC. Ugbáa FC remains Unbeaten in 8 matches scoring 18goals in the process. We wish to use this medium to express our profound gratitude to the Chairman and Management of Basalt Oil & Gas Nig. Ltd for sponsoring this year's competition.

(Photo: Dr. Okafor Stanley Afamefune presenting the trophy to Vincent Kanayor Uwandi; Ụgbaa FC captain).

No comments