Ubulu-Uku Unity Cup 2018: The Full Analysis.

Ubulu-Uku Unity Cup is an annual football league competition which is contested for by football teams from all the quarters in Ubulu-Uku, Aniocha South Local Government Area of Delta State.
In the 2018 edition, a total of 13 teams registered for the tournament and they were grouped into group A and B.
Group A comprises: Agnonta FC, Abuedo FC, Enugwu-Iyi FC, Idumubo/Akpama FC, Onitcha-Ukwu FC, Udo FC and Cup holders Ugbaa FC.

Group B comprises: Akwu FC, Aniagbala FC, Osume-Etiti FC, Isho FC, Ogbeani FC and Onicha-Okpe FC.

Only four teams will progress from each group to play in the quarterfinal.
After playing 36 group stage matches, here is a look at the league table.

Group A.

1. Ugbaa FC  Pl6 W5 D1 L 0 Gdf +11 Pts 16.

2. Agbonta FC Pl6 W2 D3 L1 Gdf +4 Pts 9

3. Abuedo FC Pl6 W3 D0 L3 Gdf +2 Pts 9

4. Onitcha-Ukwu FC Pl6 W2 D2 L2 Gdf -1 Pts8

5. Idumubo/Akpama FC Pl6 W1 D2 L3 Gdf -5 Pts5

6. Enugwu-Iyi FC Pl6 W1 D2 L3 Gdf -5 Pts5

7. Udo FC Pl6 W0 D4 L1 Gdf -6 Pts4

Group B

1. Osume-Etiti FC  Pl5 W4 D1 L 0 Gdf +9 Pts13

2. Ogbeani FC Pl5 W3 D1 L 1 Gdf+9 Pts10

3. Aniagbala FC Pl5 W3 D1 L1 Gdf +3 Pts10

4. Isho FC Pl4 W1 D1 L2 Gdf 0 Pts4

5. Onitcha-Okpe FC Pl5 W1 D0 L4 Gdf -9 Pts3

6. Akwụ FC P4 W0 D0 L4 Gdf -10 Pts 0

Four teams; Ugbaa FC, Agbonta FC, Abuedo FC and Onicha-Ukwu FC qualified from group A while Osume-Etiti FC, Ogbeani FC, Aniagbala FC and Isho FC qualified from group B.

Quarter Final Fixtures.

Ugbaa Vs Aniagbala FC 23/12/18

Osume-Etiti FC Vs Abụedo FC 24/12/18

Agbọnta FC Vs Isho FC 25/12/18

Ogbeani FC Vs Onitcha-Ukwu FC FC 26/12/18

In yesterday's fixture which was the first quarterfinal fixture, Ugbaa FC defeated Aniagbala FC 2-0 in a nerve wrecking penalty shootout, after the match ended 1-1 in regulation time. The keenly contested first half ended goalless but the champions began to probe the Aniagbala FC defence in the second period.
The defending champions got a breakthrough in the 49th minute through a long throw-in that took a touch and went into the net.
The champions looked in charge but their joy was short lived when Nwakwunie Abboy fired a shot from about 20yards to level the scoreline.
Another minute of drama was witnessed when Ugbaa FC leading scorer Ify Adikanku squared the ball and teed up with his sibling Awele Adikanku to produce a stunning goal. The referee ruled it a goal until he saw the flag of the linesman. The ball was judged to have crossed the line and the goal was ruled out.
The match ended 1-1 and went straight into penalties.
Last year's best goalkeeper of the tournament Chuks Onwordi produced an extraordinary performance to save the day for the champions.
The shot stopper stopped five in five of the penalties Aniagbala FC played with his teammates missing two.

The victory sent Ugbaa FC to the semifinals for the second time in a row.
During the celebration that ensued, an Ugbaa FC fan identified as Mr. Godwin Iyitor slumped and was later confirmed dead at the hospital. His remains has been deposited at the mortuary.
The next semifinal fixture will take place in December 24th between Osume-Etiti FC and rivals Abuedo FC.

So far, a total of 37 matches have been played with 28 wins and 9 draws.
A total of 102 goals have been recorded with Abboy Nwakwunie (Aniagbala FC) leading the chart with 6goals.

The final will be played on new year day (January 1, 2019) at Abuedo Primary School football arena Ubulu-Uku, Aniocha South Local Government Area of Delta State.

No comments