DTHA Screens And Confirms Commissioner Nominees.

The State House of Assembly has screened and confirmed the EIGHT commissioner nominees forwarded to the House by his Excellency, Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa.

The screening of the nominees was initiated by a motion moved by the Majority Leader Honorable Tim Owhefere and seconded by the Chief Whip and member representing Oshimili North Constituency, Honourable Pat Ajudua and adopted at Thursday's plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori.

The screening began with Honourable Basil Ganagana who is a former Speaker and Deputy Speaker followed by Chief Festus Ochonogor.

After introducing themselves, the Speaker reminded the house that Honourable Basil Ganagana has served the State legislature in various capacities as Speaker and Deputy Speaker while Chief Festus Ochonogor served the People's Democratic Party in various capacities. Thus, he granted them the privilege of taking a bow and go.

Also, the trio of former Commissioners during the first tenure of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, Hon. (Barr.) Peter Mrakpor, Ogbueshi Patrick Ukah and Chief James Augoye were also given the privilege of taking a bow and go after they introduced themselves to members of the House.

Hon. (Barr.) Mrakpor

The Speaker then commended the nominees for working hard to improve the lives of Deltans during the governor's first term.

Mrs Florence Alantan, Mr Chika Ossai, a former Commissioner during the first term of the governor and Professor Patrick Muoboghare also enjoyed the privilege of taking a bow and go as directed by the Speaker.

Subsequently, the Majority Leader Honourable Tim Owhefere moved for the confirmation of the nominees seconded by the member representing Ughelli South Constituency, Honourable Reuben Izeze and adopted.

The House then adjourned plenary to Tuesday July 2, 2019.

No comments